#AudiobookReview The Start of Something Wonderful Jane Lambert @JaneLambert22 @rararesources @hqdigitaluk

Posted April 16, 2019 by Zoé in Book Reviews, Reviews and Stuff / 10 Comments

The Start of Something Wonderful by Jane Lambert
Published by HQ Digital on June 5, 2015
Pages: 364
Buy on Amazon UKAmazon US
Add to Goodreads

Previously published as Learning to Fly

It’s never too late to follow your dreams…

Forty-year-old air stewardess, Emily Forsyth, thought she had everything a woman could wish for: a glamorous, jet-set lifestyle, a designer wardrobe and a dishy pilot boyfriend. Until he breaks up with her…

Catapulted into a mid-life crisis she wishes she’d had earlier, she decides to turn her life upside-down, quitting her job and instead beginning to chase her long-held dreams of becoming an actress!

Leaving the skies behind her, Emily heads for the bright lights of London’s West End – but is it too late to reach for the stars?

Don’t miss this heartwarming and uplifting debut, perfect for fans of Colleen Coleman and Cate Woods!

My Review

So to name a few things I liked about this audiobook was the fact that Jane herself narrated the book and she used her experience of the theatre entwined in her story was fab. I loved the added extras of the musical interludes thrown in the story, it did make me smile.

I did like Emily, I loved that it was a story of a 40-something woman, struggling with her current life plan, not where she wants to be, her partner leaving her and she leaves the big birds in the sky….to become an actress? Yeah that right, she starts right at the bottom, she takes the classes which were hilarious to listen to, and she starts over. She is brave.

It is so easy to get lost in this story and in Emily’s life. It is a second chance at life, one she takes with both hands and she shows she can do anything she puts her mind to it. That is not to say there were no mishaps when she sees Nigel, the ex, when she goes on a date with a “very” young lad and the general misdemeanours behind the scenes of a show.

My only gripe was the ending! It was on a cliff hanger, it was like Sliding Doors, which way would she go!? I need to know!!!

Overall it was a cute story and left me with a smile on face as it reiterates that life is what you make of it, take those chances and just live it.

Until nex time xxx


So what has been said on tour?

Herding Cats says


I loved the audio and narration of this novel.  Narrated by Jane herself it’s so entertaining.  Different characters are allocated different accents (my favourite being the Scottish ones) and their personalities all come through in the dialogue.  Also, the added bonus of little sounds bites and musical interludes really brings the audio retelling to life and it’s the first experience I have of sound being used in an audio book.

Jessica’s Reading Room says


I listened to the audiobook version of Start and enjoyed it. The author, Jane Lambert,  is also the narrator and she captured Emily’s voice and feelings well. I listen to many audiobooks and what I really liked about Start was that it added ‘sound effects’ to enhance the story. 

Travel to Recovery says


It is a classic chic lit read perfect for your next holiday or trip. There are some funny points that will having you laughing out loud. I listened to it as a audiobook which was easy to follow when I was drifting off to sleep which is my perfect time to listening to audiobooks.

Against the flow press says


It felt almost like an autobiography, as there was great understanding and depth in the detail of the story. It is well-written and was brilliantly delivered in the audio version. I did think that it ended abruptly, but perhaps that was a cliff-hanger that would lead to another book. However, there is humour and sarcasm aplenty, and I would have to say that it’s my kinda book, and one I’d be happy to recommend to others.

Audio killed the bookmark says


Jane Lambert brings a charming voice to this book. Not only with her words but also with her narration of the audiobook. I am a longtime audiobook listener and as a rule I generally try to avoid books narrated by the author, but Miss Lambert did a fantastic job. She had a firm grasp on The characters personalities, mannerisms, and voices. She really breathe life into each of these characters giving them each their own unique voice. 

Carla loves to read says


The Start of Something Wonderful is pure chick-lit. It is a story of second chances, following your dreams, standing on your own two feet and becoming a person you love and respect. Emily is a strong character, stronger than she herself realized. I could never have started my life over at the age of 40. The plot is filled with a lot of amusing scenes, as well as heartwarming and uplifting ones. It was a very realistic sounding story of what Emily would have gone through while embarking on this new life. Having the author narrate her own book is a plus. She knows exactly where to add the emphasis and drama in the story. 

Jess Bookish life says


It was also interesting to listen to the narrator – in this case, the author herself – go through the different accents and tones that made each character feel real in my mind. Actually, I felt like I was there and was just at the corner of the room, watching and listening. Because, although I didn’t felt as I was part of that world, I still felt like I was listening to someone tell me her story, letting me know all the interactions she had and all the good and bad moments in her life.

Books are Cool says


This is warming uplit, full of beautiful descriptions of people and places, and with lots of dry wit and outright comedy. It’s a thoroughly enjoyable read, and you’ll enjoy the journey as Emily takes a sharp turn off the predictable path her life has been taking in order to achieve her dream.

Follow the rest of the tour here

Thank you so much to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for the tour invite and the author  for a copy of this book in return for my honest and unbiased review

About Jane Lambert

Jane taught English in Vienna then travelled the world as cabin crew, before making the life-changing decision to become an actor and voiceover artist in her mid-thirties. She has appeared in “Calendar Girls”, “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time”, “Deathtrap”, and most recently “True West” in London’s West End.  She has recorded audiobooks for BBC AudioGo, Isis Publishing and HarperCollins. She is currently adapting “The Start of Something Wonderful” into a 6-part comedy drama for TV.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


10 responses to “#AudiobookReview The Start of Something Wonderful Jane Lambert @JaneLambert22 @rararesources @hqdigitaluk

  1. Jane Lambert

    Hi, Zoe! Woke up to your wonderful review this morning. You have made my day! Thank you for taking the time to listen and review The Start of Something Wonderful audiobook. Your comments mean the world to me. Thank you. I love your blog and am now one of your Twitter followers. Have a great day and THANK YOU!! 😉

    • Zoé

      You are so very welcome! It really was such a cute story and the fact you narrated it made it even better. Oh thank you that is lovely of you! Hope you have a fab day! xx

Stay and have a chat :)