#BookReview of A Stain on the Soul by Elizabeth Davies @bethsbooks @rararesources #giveaway

#BookReview of A Stain on the Soul by Elizabeth Davies @bethsbooks @rararesources #giveaway A Stain on the Soul by Elizabeth Davies
Also by this author: Three Bloody Pieces, Another Kind of Magic
Series: Caitlyn #2
Published by Elizabeth Davies on September 7, 2018
Pages: 275
Buy on Amazon UK
Add to Goodreads

Magical realism at its best.

Resigned to another lifetime of being a witch’s familiar, Caitlyn has found a degree of peace in her role as the Duke of Normandy’s protector and spy.

But that peace is shattered when she returns to her native land only to come face-to-face with her past, and fall in love with a man who she desperately hopes will become her future.

Perfect for fans of Sarah Woodbury and Dianne Duvall 

Well, here we are again! Book 2! Woohoo…check out my review for book one Three Bloody Pieces to catch up quickly…go on I will wait….hi you are back so here we go book two…what the hell is going on now! 

Well, we are back with my favourite cat lady Caitlyn and the pickles she has gotten into this time around! We are on the go, and we have had a time jump from the last book where we left Arlette and Caitlyn.  I am truly captivated by Caitlyn and her story, I wonder sometimes if there is witchcraft on these pages!

I will begin off saying you will need to read the first book Three Bloody Pieces so you can grasp what is going on, as events follow on from the first book and obviously the history behind all the characters. 

So, we have a time jump and we now are introduced to new Duke of Normandy, William.  He has his eyes set on a wife,  and his eyes fall on Matilda, and if it is anything like the first book then you know witchcraft will be involved. 

This book was intense, as you are with Caitlyn, trying to get her freedom and identity back, fighting against the black magic, never ageing a day! And to whether she will be caught out for who she is. I loved that we finally get to go home and that there is hope for her…But will she be free? Arlette, nowhere near as good as her Step-mother, is just as controlling and acts like a petulant child! And you have got to love all the plotting and scandals that happen in the book! Intensifying everyone’s storyline, who was going to be backstabbed next! 

I love all the historical elements of this book, I did get confused at times but that’s not because of the author’s writing but my head was fuzzy. There is a lot to take in, but the research done is amazing! You hear the “stories” of families of wealth having a person doing “witchcraft” and it is no different here. I love the supernatural element too, and I particularly love Caitlyn and her dual life she leads. The afterword in the book too tells you about some characters and it adds to the world that has been created, making them real. 

I am so glad that I have signed up for all three books, as I need to know what happens to Catilyn. This book is a little gem and I was not too sure what to expect when I signed up. Like normal, the book cover just kept calling to me, and I think the intrigue around the book too because I did not have a blurb when I first heard about it. I am so glad I found this book as I am heavily invested and adore everything about the trilogy. I just don’t want it to end! 

Don’t forget the giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Follow the rest of the tour here
*Thank you so much to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources and the author Elizabeth Davies for a copy of this book in return for my honest and unbiased review*

About Elizabeth Davies

Elizabeth Davies is a paranormal author, whose books have a romantic flavour with more than a hint of suspense. And death. There’s usually death…

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: