#BookReview of Another You by Jane Cable @Janecable @SapereBooks #AnotherYou #NetGalley

Posted August 16, 2019 by Zoé in Book Reviews, Reviews and Stuff / 3 Comments

Another You by Jane Cable
Also by this author: The Cheesemaker's House
Published by Sapere Books on June 27 2019
Buy on Amazon UK
Add to Goodreads

A book that will stay with you long after the story ends! Perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain, Nora Roberts, Lorna Cook and Victoria Connelly.


Sometimes the hardest person to save is yourself…

Marie Johnson fell in love with The Smugglers pub when she first moved to Dorset with her husband, Stephen.

But when Stephen’s wandering eye caused the breakdown of their marriage, and the costs of running the pub started to mount, Marie felt her dreams crashing down around her.

With local celebrations planned for the 60th anniversary of D-Day, Marie is hopeful things will turn around.

But she could never have predicted the ways her life will soon be changed forever.

A charming American soldier walks into Marie’s life, but it becomes clear nothing is really as it seems...


Why is Marie suddenly plagued by headaches? Is her American soldier everything he seems to be?

Or could the D-Day re-enactments be stirring up something from the past…?

ANOTHER YOU is a moving saga of family life in the 21st century which draws on the horrors of combat, both in modern times and the Second World War. It is a heart-warming tale of one woman’s fight to reclaim her identity and discover what really matters to her.

My Review

As soon as I saw that Jane had a new book coming out, there was no way I could pass up on reading this especially one that had a blurb like this!

Celebrating the sacrifices of the brave men who served on D-Day with re-enactments, hit home for me being a soldier’s wife, it is always so hard and emotional with the anniversaries but this year they seem to affect Marie, the main character, a lot more than they should.

I was completely engrossed with Marie and her story, the heartache she has suffered and her daily battle with her current situation with her estranged husband Stephen made me want to give her a huge cuddle and take her away from it all. When things got rough in the pub, Marie would escape on long walks along the cliffs where she would meet Corbin. The serenity and the peace of it all, I felt I could be there sitting on the bench, the wind whistling around as I soaked up the rays. It makes me want to travel up to the White Cliffs right now, especially as I am nowhere never Dorset!!

The introductions to the different people in Marie’s life shows you just how much one person’s actions can make a difference in your life and not always for the better. Each person had their own baggage, from the way they have been treated to different circumstances in their lives. However, you have hope throughout the book that everything will be all ok but not in a cheesy way just in a way where you know when you close the book the characters will be ok and you can rest easier.

Corbin, a mysterious man that Marie meets on her walks. Paxton, a soldier who is suffering from PTSD. George, an elderly man who was there at D-Days with his own stories of the day. Mark, George’s son, with his dog Troy who strikes up his own friendship with Marie. All these men have an impact on Marie in different and complex ways.

I loved Jane’s previous novel The Cheesemaker’s House and I love how she entwines the ghostly past with the present day. Occasionally blurring the lines between past and present, creating enough mystery to make sure you do not put the book down. Just like The Cheesemaker’s House, it is a slow burner, it is a beautiful story and Jane never fails to let me down. She knows how to write, and she tackles some tough subjects with so much delicacy especially as she knows how to pull on your heartstrings!!

I know that this review is shorter than normal for me, I am still not feeling 100% but more importantly, I really do not have the words to describe how beautiful, breath-taking, realistic, and emotional this book is, it is one you need to experience for yourself.

Question is, can I go to The Smugglers pub and enjoy some fish and chips??

Until next time xxx

Follow the rest of the tour here

Thanks to Caoimhe at Sapere Books for the tour invite and the author for a copy of the book for my honest and unbiased review

About Jane Cable

Although brought up in Cardiff, Jane Cable left Wales to study at the age of eighteen and has lived in England ever since. Her father was Anglo-Welsh poet Mercer Simpson so growing up in a house full of books Jane always read – and wrote. In 2011 she started to take her hobby seriously when The Cheesemaker’s House, which became her debut novel, reached the final of The Alan Titchmarsh Show’s People’s Novelist competition. She writes romance with a twist of mystery which has been published independently and through the UK ebook giant, Endeavour Press. Jane is an active member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and a director of Chindi Authors.

In 2017 Jane moved to Cornwall and this year will become a full time author. She’s passionate about her new home, cricket, travelling and her husband of 22 years – although not necessarily in that order

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:


3 responses to “#BookReview of Another You by Jane Cable @Janecable @SapereBooks #AnotherYou #NetGalley

Stay and have a chat :)