#BookReview of For Once in my life by Colleen Coleman @CollColemanAuth @nholten40 @bookouture #netgalley #foronceinmylife

#BookReview of For Once in my life by Colleen Coleman @CollColemanAuth @nholten40 @bookouture #netgalley #foronceinmylife For Once in My Life by Colleen Coleman
Published by Bookouture on November 20 2018
Genres: Romance, Fiction
Pages: 208
Buy on Amazon UKGoogle PlayiBooksKobo
Add to Goodreads

Twenty-nine-year-old Lily Buckley planned to be happily married and in her dream job by now. Instead she’s been single since being left at the altar three years ago, and works at her local paper, writing about giant vegetables at the village fete and a dog who looks exactly like Chewbacca.

Not quite what she was dreaming of.

So when Lily’s given the opportunity to write her own column it’s exactly what she’s always wanted – except what she has to write about. She has to do one thing every week that scares her.

With encouragement from sexy colleague – and adrenalin-junkie – Christopher, Lily agrees. From sky-diving to haunted houses, Lily is going to be pushed to her limit. But Lily is hiding something – the thing that she fears the most of all…

Ever since her heart was broken Lily has been afraid of falling in love again. Will fear hold her back once more – or can Christopher help her to finally find happiness?

An uplifting, feel-good story about friendship, romance, and finding the hero inside yourself. Fans of Marian Keyes, Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Kinsella will love Colleen Coleman!

I needed this book. I love reading books where the main story is about the MC rising up and making changes and this is what Lily does here! Ok, so she’s a little of a control freak at the beginning, planning her wedding to the T. When it all falls apart and all she has is her job and cottage and her books and three years on she believes she is ok. Then there are problems at work and here comes Lily as puts her big girl pants on steps up and shines so bright. 

To save the Gazette she has to do a bucket list, the Buckley Bucket List, put herself out of that comfort zone! I loved this bucket list as some of the things are on my list and Shankely Hall, Yes and please!! 

This is my first outing with this author, and looking back she likes to name her novels with some titles and so much so I was singing in my head ‘For Once In My Life’ for the majority of it! I warmed instantly to Lily, her fears and her dreams and loved being able to sit in the front row and watch her learn and grow and achieve her dreams.

I found so much inspiration with this book, to go after your dreams and what you believe in, and I adore books like this they spur you and want you to go out and achieve things! And this takes the lead over the romance subplot of the novel which was just as cute and I love how Lily and Christopher spurred each other on.  I have to shout out to Mary from the book, the detective of the office block and I loved her scenes with her trusty post-it notes. 

If you want to read something the feel-good factor, that will make you chuckle, then look no further. It is easy to lose yourself in this book and smile throughout.

Follow the rest of the tour here

About Colleen Coleman

Colleen was born in Canada and raised in Ireland. She is the winner of the much-coveted Novelicious Undiscovered People’s Choice Award launched to find the next ‘chick-lit star’. 

She spent years teaching English and Philosophy before finally taking a deep breath, scrunching both eyes shut, putting her pen to paper and vowing not to lift it again until she wrote the words ‘the end’. As a result, her first novel, Don’t Stop Me Now was born. 

Colleen lives between London, Ireland and Cyprus with her very patient husband and very,very chatty twin daughters.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

6 Comments

  1. jenchaos76
    November 21, 2018 / 10:53 am

    Sounds like the kind of story that would make me cringe because I get anxious reading them, I like strange stuff, and I’m getting away from relationship books.

    • Zoe
      Author
      November 21, 2018 / 11:14 am

      Oh no why? I am trying to broaden my reding horizons but i do love a nice book like this every so often

      • jenchaos76
        November 21, 2018 / 11:20 am

        Yeah I’m going the dangerous and magic route

        • Zoe
          Author
          November 22, 2018 / 7:53 am

          Ooh that sounds exciting!

    • Zoe
      Author
      November 23, 2018 / 11:12 am

      Ah thank you. It was such a lovely book and i found it so inspirational.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: