#BookReview of Lies between us by Ronnie Turner @Ronnie__Turner @hqdigital #LiesBetweenUs #WhereIsBonnie?

#BookReview of Lies between us by Ronnie Turner @Ronnie__Turner  @hqdigital #LiesBetweenUs #WhereIsBonnie? Lies Between Us by Ronnie Turner
Published by HQ Digital on October 1, 2018
Genres: Thriller, Mystery
Buy on Amazon UKGoogle PlayiBooksKobo
Add to Goodreads

The past is always watching . . .

Three people, leading very different lives, are about to be brought together – with devastating consequences . . .

John has a perfect life, until the day his daughter goes missing.

Maisie cares for her patients, but hides her own traumatic past.

Miller should be an innocent child, but is obsessed with something he can’t have.

They all have something in common, though none of them know it – and the truth won’t stay hidden for long . . .

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Shari Lapena and Lisa Jewell.

I am so lucky to be able to share with you today my review of our very own Ronnie Turner’s debut book! God this is such an exciting day! I just hope I can find some words for this immense book, otherwise, like normal it will just be a nonsensical brain dump!!

As you can see from the tour posters, that so many of us are excited about this book, and it is clear to see why when you open the book (or turn the kindle on) and read the opening pages.  Now #sorrynotsorry this review will be so vague as I can’t ruin this for someone else as I would hate for it to be ruined for me.

We have a story of three people, all seemingly separate, three different timelines and a WTH is going on quite a lot throughout the book. I think I spent a lot of time putting the book down and saying ok, I think A is going to happen, pick it back up and read, put down ok scrub that out B is going to happen etc etc, all the while Ronnie is being “tricksy”!! (My daughters words).  Until you near the end of the book can you reflect back on the links but that is all I will say. 

Now you do have to pay attention in this book, as mentioned as you have three different voices and three different timelines. I love multiple POV’s and timelines because I love the discovery of how everything is linked, and boy I WAS NOT disappointed. 

Miller, in 1984, a boy who is not completely all ok, his way of thinking and life, is just well…not normal. His actions and his thoughts are just so terrifying, and when reading his parts, I kept having a creepy kid’s sing-song voice rushing through me. He is one disturbed child.  It is quite something to become eager to read chapters to do with Miller because as mentioned he is one ill child, yet the writing makes you want to read his chapters more than anyone else as you gravitate more to him, that is why sometimes I do love the uncomfortable read more than anything else.  Putting you completely out of your comfort zone! 

John, in 2015, has a loving wife, a gorgeous little girl Bonnie, and another baby on the way. Until one day Bonnie disappears. (God anything with missing children fills me with dread, nails biting time) He is trying to figure out where it all went wrong and why has his Bonnie has gone missing? Why would someone take her? What happened in his past? 

Maisie, in 2016, a nurse in the ICU, watching over a family as the husband lies in a coma, but something does not sit right with her as she tends to the husband.  A lot of people did not shine to her character as much, but there was something I found intriguing about her. I wanted to know her story and what made her unsettled. 

I love how character-driven this book was, sometimes to me that is much more thrilling, learn about them and what makes somebody tick.  Here they are so fleshed out, they could almost be real! This book captivates you entirely leaving you not able to do anything but read this book as it sucks you into the world of Miller, John and Maisie. Despite the differences with all these characters, I was heavily invested, flicking the pages to find out the truth, and how all these characters were connected and all I can say is WOAH! Nothing more, that is it. 

This is such an amazing debut by Ronnie, and it is a strong start to her writing career. I really can’t wait to see what the future brings for her! It is going to be shining and bright. 

P.s Thank you so much for a mention in your book, I am forever in awe! 

Follow this HUGE tour here!

*Thank you so SO SO SO SO SO much to the author Ronnie Turner for a copy of this book in return for my honest and unbiased review*

About Ronnie Turner

Ronnie Turner grew up in Cornwall, the youngest in a large family. At an early age, she discovered a love of literature and dreamed of being a published author. Ronnie now lives in Dorset with her family and three dogs. In her spare time, she reviews books on her blog and enjoys long walks on the coast. She is currently working on her second novel.

Ronnie’s debut novel, Lies Between Us, will be published by HQ Digital in October 2018.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: