#BookReview of Love You Gone by Rona Halsall @RonaHalsallAuth @nholten40 @bookouture #netgalley #loveyougone #OMG #OMFG

#BookReview of Love You Gone by Rona Halsall @RonaHalsallAuth @nholten40 @bookouture #netgalley #loveyougone #OMG #OMFG Love You Gone by Rona Halsall
Published by Bookouture on Nvember 15 2018
Genres: Fiction, Thriller, Psychological
Pages: 306
Buy on Amazon UKGoogle PlayiBooksKobo
Add to Goodreads

‘Hello? Police? My husband and our children… they’re gone.’

When Mel arrives at the holiday cottage in the Lake District, she expects to find the heating on and her husband Luke and the two children waiting for her. Maybe a bottle of wine open…

Instead, there is just a note on the side, saying they’ve gone out for a walk.

But they aren’t back several hours later, and Mel knows something is wrong. Really wrong. When a search doesn’t find them, she has to confess to the police that her marriage isn’t all that it seems.

Even if that risks her own secrets being revealed…

An absolutely incredible, page-turning psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming, for fans of Gone Girl, Behind Closed Doors and Ruth Ware.

OMG OMG OMG OMG

OMFG!!!!

This book! Wow! I know I say it a lot, but I really did devour it in one sitting. I had been messaging Rae and Eva (Rae Reads and NovelDeelights) sending random emojis and “shocking ” when I was reading. Then I fell asleep (long day) and woke up and kept reading until I had seen those two words THE END. Did I get closure? Don’t blinking think so, Luke and Mel would not let me sleep until their story had been told.  

Now I must admit, I did not write in the diary I was on the tour for this one, so panic stations hit as I started this Sunday! But I was sucked in. Reading the opening chapter of the book from Luke’s point of view and I realised I did not have a scooby what this book about! I forgot the blurb and I tell you what BEST. DECISION. EVER! Seriously, no plot can be discussed, you need to go in blind and enjoy this ride!

So, you read the opening chapter, as I did, and you are led to unchartered territories and a “what is going on moment?” Then Part 1 kicks in and we are with Mel, Luke’s wife, and there was something off with her, something didn’t add up. Luke and the two children, Callum and Tessa, were not at the cottage in the Lake District for their family holiday as agreed when Mel got there. Where are they? What is going on? We learn events that have transpired in the last couple of years from Mel’s view. Again, what is going on?

Part 2, it is all about Luke, and the same events as before, but a whole new take. All I can say is when I was reading this, I was raging! My hand flew to my mouth so many times if it had not been for the glasses, I would have probably slapped myself in the eye! Seriously this was shocking stuff, what was I reading! I had so much pent-up anger from my week as it was and this literally made me want to explode!

When I read part 2, 3 and 4, I went back to the prologue, and re-read it and looking at it, it meant something completely different when you know things, wow! So much is given in the opening scenes that you do not know even realise it! I loved it!

Rona has taken an idea and changed it on its head from the norm. A brave subject too! This book unsettles you with the subject matter, sharp intake of breath and I whizzed through the book, was this really happening? A whole new type of crazy town, and not one I wanted to visit!

And the ending…. I mean that was an actual WTF, was it the right ending? Only you can decide, and then let me know what you thought. I thought it was just desserts but totally shocking, and I think the way that Ms Halsall wrote it all kind of casual like ‘yes this is everyday life look at me’ just rocked the boat even more.

Okay, I think I must stop now, I have the fear I will let something slip and then I may have to drive off to the Lake District myself and hide!!!

This could just be my book of the month #justsaying

I completely agree with the tagline of this book, that this IS a page-turner of the fastest kind, it WILL turn your world as you know it upside down, and it WILL shatter your nerves.

WOW

Follow the rest of the tour here

About Rona Halsall

Rona’s debut psychological thriller, Keep You Safe came out on 17th August and her second novel, Love You Gone is out now.

Rona lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and three guinea pigs. She has been a bookworm since she was a child and now she’s actually creating stories of her own, which still feels like a dream come true.

She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful beaches on the Island while she’s plotting how to kill off her next victim. She also makes sure she deletes her Google history on a regular basis, because… well, you can’t be too careful when you spend your life researching new and ingenious ways for people to die.

She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

10 Comments

  1. jenchaos76
    November 20, 2018 / 9:08 am

    Awesome. I think this one is a winner

    • Zoe
      Author
      November 20, 2018 / 9:12 am

      It is most definitely up there! It was superb <3

  2. November 20, 2018 / 9:14 am

    Loved the book and your site is so pretty and well presented – a skill that I need to learn xxx

    • Zoe
      Author
      November 20, 2018 / 9:23 am

      Book was amazing wasn’t it!! So much I wanted to say but couldn’t! Oh thank you, I have only just changed it around. I love how you have your blog laid out, it looks awesome xxx

      • November 20, 2018 / 9:25 am

        I’ve just changed the theme as I thought it was a bit boring before. Thanks – I’m still using free wordpress so a little limited. I loved the book and was cheering a little at that last chapter

        • Zoe
          Author
          November 20, 2018 / 9:30 am

          Oh I think it looks good. 😘 I know me too! My world was turned upside down by this! X

          • November 20, 2018 / 9:30 am

            I’m reading The Liar’s Wife now which is equally as intense.

            • Zoe
              Author
              November 20, 2018 / 5:33 pm

              I’m on the tour for that but hosting an extract but I can’t wait to read it 😬

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: