#BookReview of Never Say Goodbye by Richard Parker @Bookwalter @nholten40 @bookouture #NetGalley

#BookReview of Never Say Goodbye by Richard Parker @Bookwalter @nholten40 @bookouture #NetGalley #BookReview of Never Say Goodbye by Richard Parker @Bookwalter @nholten40 @bookouture #NetGalleyNever Say Goodbye by Richard Jay Parker
Series: Detective Tom Fabian, #1
Published by Bookouture on August 14, 2018
Genres: Mystery, Crime
Pages: 284
Buy on Amazon UK
Add to Goodreads

Somewhere in this city… she’s waiting to be found.

When the body of an innocent woman is found stabbed in her otherwise pristine bedroom, Detective Tom Fabian is called in to lead the investigation. It’s the latest in a series of seemingly random murders all over London, which Tom suspects might be linked… but how?

Just when Tom feels all his leads have run dry, he discovers a startling connection between the victims. The killer is tracing a sinister web of murder through the capital – but where does it lead, and who is next?

But then another victim is found, just as Tom’s wife and teenage daughter find themselves in grave danger. Is it a coincidence, or has his job put his family at risk? Has Tom unknowingly sacrificed those he loves most to the darkest case of his career… and can he catch the killer before he strikes again?

A completely gripping, pulse-racing crime thriller that will keep you guessing until the last page. Perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, Mark Edwards and Robert Dugoni.

Geez, Louise…..hang on let me rephrase that…… GEEZ RICHARD! I have not had the pleasure of reading any of his books before, but when the opportunity came up for this book I jumped at it on the basis of the blurb. I was not disappointed at all. I seem to be finding the most amazing books at the moment and this is up for there for me! 

When I started this book, in certain parts I had to keep checking I was definitely reading the first in the series as it felt as though Detective Tom Fabian was already an old friend (credit to the writing). It also alluded to the break up with his wife (this hurt!) and a previous case in the name of an unsettling character of Christopher Wisher. However, some of this was explained throughout the book and that cliffhanger ending, WOW I am so blinking excited that this looks like it could be explored in the next book. (Seriously Richard, please, you need to! I need answers!)

I will start with the ending of the book, mainly because it was a WowWee one! I knew that when Detective Tom Fabian missed a phone call, that the story had to be continued, it has to be continued…. (no pressure). What got me was the epilogue, with the briefest introduction of a new character, and the final paragraph of the book. Jaw dropped (regular occurrence especially when Noelle is involved), I mean I knew that we had to have a cliff-hanger, I just was not expecting that.

(No spoilers here!) So, this story had a fabulous premise in the way that the murderer planned their killings. For a change, I did not suspect who the killer was but I had my list of suspects. We are led by the author to different suspects and only to be led down the garden path so many red herrings!!!

Fabian takes over the case of the four victims, he reviews each murder on an individual basis. By looking at the victims individually, we are introduced to a pool of minor characters and in turn, we are led to suspect them all. As we follow the clues, secrets are exposed for these minor characters which do not affect the case but damages them. It is amazing, how even though they were not directly linked to the murder, they had secrets to hide and fully deserved their comeuppance, very much the Butterfly effect. As the murders ramp up, you feel the panic in the murderer, slowly reducing the suspect pool. Time is running out but why? what has changed? Is Fabian and his team that close to solving it already? Why are the victims picked? How are they linked? All make for a page-turning, engrossing read! 

The ending was very bittersweet, when you come face-to-face with the murderer and their reasons, well it was heartbreaking but far from justified. However, Richard did not let the story finish there, he liked to toy with us and threw a spanner in the works completely, well read the next chapter you will find out why! 

With the investigation in full swing, you are introduced to Fabian’s family in the subplot. His daughter Tilly is off to university and breaks it off with her long term boyfriend. His wife, living in their old house, moving on with her life when, wait what…. danger hits home. Whilst I loved meeting the Fabian out of work, struggling to be the family man he wants to be as he is estranged from his wife, it is not until near the end of the book you see how everything links together. Well J.A.W. D.R.O.P when you find out how it just makes me need to scream from the rooftop!!

I loved the writing in this book, and how all the subplots are woven into the main storyline definitely added to my reading enjoyment. I was engrossed and did not want to put the book down. I, personally, could not identify who the murderer was and I was sure I had it right at one point but alas it was not to be and I had the rug firmly pulled out from under me. (Don’t worry it did not hurt too much) I loved the character of Detective Tom Fabian, and would love for him to not be estranged from his ex-wife, maybe in the future they will find their way to be back to each other but I fear that his job will always be in the way.

First book in the series, first introduction to Richard Parker… definitely not my last! I can’t wait for the next book to come out (Hopefully it is in the works soon!) and until then I am off to see if about purchasing some more books……keep it a secret though…

Follow the rest of the tour
*Thank you so much to Noelle at Bookouture and the author Richard Parker for a copy of this book in return for my honest and unbiased review*

If you enjoyed my review or any of my other reviews, please share it on Twitter, Facebook,  anywhere for other people to enjoy or if you fancy a chat stick a comment below. Thanks for stopping by! ♥

About Richard Parker

Richard Parker was formerly a TV script writer, script editor and producer before turning his hand to penning twisted stand alone thrillers.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: