#BookReview of Silent Scream by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture #BuddyReading #DetectiveKimStone #NewAuthorForMe

#BookReview of Silent Scream by Angela Marsons @WriteAngie @bookouture #BuddyReading #DetectiveKimStone #NewAuthorForMe Silent Scream by Angela Marsons
Also by this author: Dead Memories
Series: D.I. Kim Stone #1
Published by Bookouture on February 20, 2015
Pages: 390
Buy on Amazon UK
Add to Goodreads

Even the darkest secrets can’t stay buried forever… Five figures gather round a shallow grave. They had all taken turns to dig. An adult sized hole would have taken longer. An innocent life had been taken but the pact had been made. Their secrets would be buried, bound in blood …

Years later, a headmistress is found brutally strangled, the first in a spate of gruesome murders which shock the Black Country.

But when human remains are discovered at a former children’s home, disturbing secrets are also unearthed. D.I. Kim Stone fast realises she’s on the hunt for a twisted individual whose killing spree spans decades.

As the body count rises, Kim needs to stop the murderer before they strike again. But to catch the killer, can Kim confront the demons of her own past before it’s too late?

Fans of Rachel Abbott, Val McDermid and Mark Billingham will be gripped by this exceptional new voice in British crime fiction.

Wow! Just wow! This was the first book I have read by Ms Marsons and the first one I have done as a buddy read and wow on both fronts. It was so much fun splitting the book by staves and then everyone rushing onto our Goodreads and Facebook chat to discuss the instalment we had just read! I feel for the group though as I brain dump as I go along!

This book just blew me away, and I think it is safe to say, everyone in our group! One of the first things we all agreed on is that this book felt more like an established book series rather than the first in the series. I felt like I knew the team intimately already, they gelled so well and I felt I was part of the family.

Kim Stone, this woman is a legend and I openly admit #girlcrush over here! This woman had more balls than any man I know! A leather wearing, motor biker, ball crusher! With the little teasers into her past, you can see why she is this way and I can not wait to learn more about her and her heartbreaking past. Her banter with Bryant is hilarious the only one she will allow to be close to her. Bates, god how these two wound each other, gives me hope that he will be back again, the chemistry with these two just makes me smile. Stone does not preamble, she is blunt and can be seen as rude and this definitely riles a lot of people. Me, it left me smiling.

Bryant, her partner, is the sun in her darkness, and the banter flowed so easily and broke up the story nicely as this story is dark, grim and intense the entire way through.

I loved all the theories we were throwing around in the group, we had theories about the twins, which we were oh so close to guessing. The shock we all experienced with the story and we all picked up on the same threads.

The shocks are so very real, the descriptions and the story is horrifying and I felt my hand was covering my mouth so many times in this book. Having lived near Birmingham in my uni days I recognised a few places in the book, one being Brindley Place, so for me, it made it so much easier to relate to the book and experience the harrowing events.

Ms Marsons knows how to suck the reader in, she knows what buttons to press to get Kim riled up and in turn the reader. She makes you feel the anguish of the team, the fear of the girls, the determination of Kim.

I think it is safe to say I LOVED and ADORED this book and I am chomping at the bit to get onto the next book already! I am willing to drop all commitments just to do so! In fact, we are all so excited to read the next book in the series as part of our buddy reads and I have a feeling that the schedule may just be changed again by Kate!

Make sure you check out the reviews from my reading buddies today!

Kate at Portable Magic

Gemma at Between the Pages Book Club

Robyn at Sinfully Wicked Book Reviews

Jo at Over the Rainbow Book Blog

We are starting our next buddy read on the 11th February with If I Die before I wake by Emily Koch and The Flower Girls by Alice Clarke-Platts on 21st February. If any of you want to join in, let us know and we will add you to our group on Goodreads!

Until next time xxx

About Angela Marsons

Angela is the author of the Kim Stone Crime series. She discovered a love of writing at Primary School when a short piece on the rocks and the sea gained her the only merit point she ever got.
Angela wrote the stories that burned inside and then stored them safely in a desk drawer.
After much urging from her partner she began to enter short story competitions in Writer’s News resulting in a win and three short listed entries.
She used the Amazon KDP program to publish two of her earlier works before concentrating on her true passion – Crime.
Angela is now signed to write a total of 16 Kim Stone books for http://bookouture.comand has secured a print deal with Bonnier Zaffre Publishing.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Stay and have a chat :)

18 Comments

  1. February 10, 2019 / 10:46 am

    I love the idea of the buddy reads. Do you divide the book up beforehand and plan where you’re reading to?

    • Zoe
      Author
      February 10, 2019 / 11:23 am

      Yes we do, so we read it about 50 pages ish a day so it doesn’t take up loads of time and then chat on FB and GR. do you want to join in? I’m making a list of all NG books and trying to pair up everyone. Did you want to join in? It’s great fun x

      • February 10, 2019 / 2:02 pm

        I’m tempted because I have both of your upcoming reads, but I just don’t know if I can fit in any more reading at the moment.

        • Zoe
          Author
          February 10, 2019 / 2:08 pm

          Thanks ok. If you want I can add you to the group and you can see what we are doing and you can jump in when you want to. It doesn’t matter if you miss a day either as we’ve set up the discussion posts to ensure you don’t see any spoilers! I’m doing my reading when getting ready for work etc in the mornings lol

          • February 10, 2019 / 2:25 pm

            How are you reading whilst getting ready? Are you wonderwoman?! But yes please, I’d love to be added to the group and I’ll try to join in. Thanks, Zoe.

            • Zoe
              Author
              February 10, 2019 / 2:32 pm

              Ha ha I wish! I read on my phone, so when cleaning my teeth, eating breakfast drying my hair lol awesome just join in when you can! No pressure ❤️

  2. February 10, 2019 / 10:48 am

    One of my favourite crime series ever and each book is so different, such a talented author x

    • Zoe
      Author
      February 10, 2019 / 11:22 am

      I loved it! I can’t wait for the next one in the series! Kim is epic! X

  3. February 10, 2019 / 11:07 am

    I knew you’d love this and trust me, this series just gets better and better!

    • Zoe
      Author
      February 10, 2019 / 11:21 am

      I did love it!!! Lol I want to read the next one now!

  4. February 10, 2019 / 11:19 am

    Fab review!
    Love the sound of buddy reads! Xx

    • Zoe
      Author
      February 10, 2019 / 11:20 am

      You can join in lovely! We are all trying to clear NG and read Angela Marsons and we read about 50pages a day over 8 days ish. Let me know and I can add you to the group chat etc xxx

  5. February 11, 2019 / 7:35 am

    What fun reading together in a group. Sounds like you loved this too!

    • Zoe
      Author
      February 11, 2019 / 6:52 pm

      It is fun with everyone throwing out different theories . The book was amazing!

%d bloggers like this: