#BookReview of The Classroom by A.L Bird @albirdwriter @hqdigitalUK #TheClassroom #NetGalley

#BookReview of The Classroom by A.L Bird @albirdwriter @hqdigitalUK #TheClassroom #NetGalley The Classroom by A.L. Bird
Published by HQ Digital on September 16, 2018
Genres: Psychological, Thriller
Pages: 384
Add to Goodreads

Letting go of your daughter for the first time isn’t easy.

But the classroom is the one place she should be safe.

Isn’t it?

Don’t miss the chilling new psychological thriller from A.L. Bird, author of The Good Mother and Don’t Say a Word, perfect for fans of S.E. Lynes, Sherryl Brown and Lisa Hall. Pre-order now!

Happy publication day for yesterday!

Probably not the best time for me to read this book with my little one just starting school…….but you learn.

Now I will warn you this review will be vague, there is something in this storyline that just that the smallest detail slipped will give the plot away, and sadly I have read a couple of reviews that have done so. 

Anyway, the story follows a couple of storylines that leave your head spinning with a LOT of questions! 

We start with Kirsten life in September 2018 (Ah present day hello!) with her daughter Harriet starting school, both Kirsten and her husband Ian having busy lives. Constantly being told by Kirsten how much she loves her daughter, but always has work on her mind. Before I changed my job, I was guilty of this a lot, and I felt a lot of empathy for her, as you love this bundle of joy but you always find your mind occupied on what you could consider more pressing. 

Then, we meet Miriam in the same timeline as Kirsten, she is Harriet’s young school teacher with an uneasy fixation with her. Something just slightly off there.

Then we are taken back five years to 2012 to Becky and the two weeks she spent at a Drama club in the summer. 

What is the deal with Kirsten? Miriam? And how does Becky fit in to this? 

These are just some of the questions at the beginning of the book, I spent ages playing detective, and for a change, this book delivered early on, still with one twist I didn’t see coming. As for the rest of the book…well you need to read this.

As I said I did feel some empathy towards Kirsten, but slowly I found that her, Miriam and Ian were not likeable characters. Only protecting themselves and what was best for them. I loved Harriet and Becky, well bless her, she deserved so much better. Despite the lack of likeable characters, this book draws you into a terrifying story that unsettles you to the core. It made me cuddle my little one a little bit tighter and tell her I love you so much that I was told off as I said it too much!! 

I whizzed through this book without realising as I needed to know what was going on. I needed closure and I needed safety! I personally did not find any bits of the books slow, but just so much intrigue and cryptic conversations between people that had me screaming at the book to tell me the answers and now!!! Goddammit! Plus I always love it when I see a shoutout to my hometown Watford -give me a whoop whoop

This is my introduction to A.L Bird (but not my last), I was left feeling uneasy for most of the book. It felt tainted, and I was worried because really as the blurb says, the classroom should be the one place your child is safe.. isn’t it? 

Who do you trust? 

Follow the rest of the tour here

Thank you so much to Izzy at HQ Digital and the author A.L Bird for a copy of this book in return for my honest and unbiased review*

If you enjoyed my review or any of my other reviews, please share it on Twitter, Facebook,  anywhere for other people to enjoy or if you fancy a chat stick a comment below. Thanks for stopping by! ♥

About A.L. Bird

A.L. Bird (Amy) lives in North London with her young family. She divides her time between writing and working as a lawyer. ‘Don’t Say a Word’ was published in June 2017. ‘The Good Mother’, released in April 2016, her first major psychological thriller for HQDigital (HarperCollins), the fourth novel she’s written for the imprint. Her debut ‘Yours is Mine’ reached the coveted No. 1 spot in the Amazon Women’s Crime chart. She has an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck, University of London, and is also an alumna of the Faber Academy ‘Writing a Novel’ course, which she studied under Richard Skinner. Amy is a member of the Crime Writers’ Association.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: