#BookReview of The Diary by Vikki Patis @PatisVikki @nholten40 @bookouture #netgalley #thediary

#BookReview of The Diary by Vikki Patis @PatisVikki @nholten40 @bookouture #netgalley #thediary The Diary by Vikki Patis
Published by Bookouture on November 26 2018
Genres: Thriller
Buy on Amazon UKGoogle PlayiBooksKobo
Add to Goodreads

‘I know all your secrets, Lauren.’

Lauren has spent years running away from her home town, her childhood and the memories of her best friend, Hannah.

Until the tenth anniversary of Hannah’s death forces her to return home and to the group of friends she abandoned there. It should be a quick visit, just so Lauren can pay her respects.

At home, Lauren finds Hannah’s old diary. A diary full of secrets. The terrible things Lauren did, the lies she’s told, the reason she ran away. And she receives a message:

‘I don’t know why you’re back, but I know why you left.’

But no-one else has seen the diary, and Hannah’s dead, isn’t she?

A suspenseful psychological thriller full of twists and turns – you won’t be able to stop turning the pages of The Diary. Perfect for fans of The Sister, The Girl on the Train and We Were Liars.

This book has the essence of Pretty Little Liars and trying to figure out who “A” was in that because in that show everyone is a suspect. Well, the same could be said here! I spent 90% of this book screaming with my need to have answers and all the while Ms Patis just kept dangling a carrot in front of me like you would a donkey, if I was said donkey I would be bloody skinny because I would never catch the carrot!!

We venture through this book with a mixture of then and now chapters, always shown through Lauren’s eyes. Her life with Hannah when they were younger and their friends, Natalie, Sophie, Nicole and Yasmin. Then Lauren’s life as an adult without Hannah. We meet Lauren when it is the 10th anniversary of Hannah’s death, as she travels home to Hitchin when the crazy happens.

I surprised myself here, near the end of the book knowing this was a psychological thriller, it made me get something in my eyes. The secrets when they were uncovered were heartbreaking and the group of girls left behind had to learn to understand and deal with it.

I was speeding my way through this book quickly, I had to know what was going on. It was like being on a speeding train, next stop crazy town, screaming with excitement and frustration because you just did not know what revelation, if any, was about to be dropped! Initially, I thought that Hannah and Lauren’s friendship was toxic, they may call each other sissy but Hannah was so overbearing and controlling of Lauren. However, I think I may be slightly wavering on my thinking.

This is so much more of a character-driven thriller, in the respect that yes someone is sending the messages to all the girls and yes you are dying to know who is sending them, but the story focuses on the secrets they have all kept. The guilt they feel and the hopelessness of what it was like as a teenager without the ability to control the world around them.

The tension is built from the start, the slight nudges in one direction from the author as she is trying to distract you from discovering the truth until she is ready. It was an enthralling read and it keeps the intrigue up throughout the book until the final reveal at the end. Carrot and the donkey remember!

Follow the rest of the tour here

Thanks to Emma at Bloodhound Books for the tour invite and the author for a copy of the book in return for my honest and unbiased review

About Vikki Patis

Vikki Patis is an author and blogger, as well as an avid reader and book reviewer. When she isn’t working as a Regulatory Affairs Manager, she can usually be found drinking tea, baking cakes, or taking walks in the Hertfordshire countryside. She lives with her partner and two cats.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

10 Comments

  1. November 28, 2018 / 7:33 am

    I love the cover on this one! I also loved Pretty Little Liars, so maybe I should throw this on my TBR

    • Zoe
      Author
      November 29, 2018 / 7:39 am

      I loved PLL too! Yeah it has that feel to it! Oh you should try and check it out! It kept me intrigued throughout

      • November 29, 2018 / 9:38 am

        That’s wonderful! I am going to check it out! Thanks!

        • Zoe
          Author
          November 29, 2018 / 11:12 am

          Hope you enjoy! You will have to let me know what you think

  2. November 28, 2018 / 8:54 am

    I really enjoyed this too and felt it was less a thriller and more about grief, guilt and letting go. I predicted the twist easily but it didnt take away ftom how good the book is xcx

    • Zoe
      Author
      November 28, 2018 / 10:38 am

      Yeah I kind of guessed the ending, but I completely agree. It had you guessing how it would end, and as you say guilt and grief. Glad you enjoyed it too! x

      • November 28, 2018 / 10:42 am

        Yes. It was very different. Not pacey or high suspense but a journey.

        • Zoe
          Author
          November 28, 2018 / 10:51 am

          Yes! I completely agree! It made a nice change!

  3. November 28, 2018 / 8:59 am

    This would be perfect for by the pool or beach. A book so good you have to finish it in one sitting. Thank you for sharing!

    • Zoe
      Author
      November 28, 2018 / 10:39 am

      Yes! You can easily read this in one go! I would have done if I didn’t need sleep lol. There was a lot of mystery and intrigue throughout which was fab

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: