#BookReview of The Silent Dead by Graham Smith @GrahamSmith1972 @nholten40 @bookouture

#BookReview of The Silent Dead by Graham Smith @GrahamSmith1972 @nholten40 @bookouture The Silent Dead by Graham Smith
Series: Detective Beth Young #1
Published by Bookouture on November 30 2018
Genres: Thriller, Mystery
Pages: 371
Buy on Amazon UKGoogle PlayiBooksKobo
Add to Goodreads

He’d found an angel for his collection. But one angel at a time was never enough...

Detective Beth Young has just joined the Cumbrian major crimes team when a body is found posed in a ritualistic manner – arms spread and graceful wings attached – at a crumbling castle in the hills of the Lake District.

The entire police force are on red alert. But Beth begins to feel she’s the only one who can follow the disturbing clues left by the twisted killer. Because she doesn’t think like everyone else. To Beth, crimes are puzzles she can solve. Even if real life is a little harder.

As more bodies are discovered in derelict stately homes across the Lake District, she knows she’s in a race against time.

But the killer is looking for another victim to add to his collection… Will Beth be able to save her? Or will he get there first?

A tenacious young detective with scars both physical and emotional, Beth Young will stop at nothing in her fight for justice for the innocent. The Silent Dead is the first book in the series. Set in the Lake District, it is perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and Peter James. Previously Titled: The Darling Dead

So I am sharing my day with some fantastic bloggers so make sure you check out their reviews too! I also have a bit of confession, I had plans to have this book finished over the weekend, but it was my daughters brithday and then she got poorly and I was shattered and fell asleep with the kindle in my hand by 7pm! All my plans for a relaxing evening went out the window! I am near the end so this will be a mini review for now, my apologies to the Graham and Noelle. 

So I have been “shouted” shall I say from a fellow blogger (Eva, she is going to disown me soon ahem!) that I have not read Graham’s other series of Jack Boulder, so this a complete introduction to the author and the series. Wow!!! This man can write (obviously), the words flowed and I was hooked from the opening scenes. 

The main voice of the book is DC Beth Young, however through the short snappy chapters, there are two unknown chilling male voices. One the women find as a creep looking for his angels, and one where the women want to through themselves at him, but both so sinister.

We have a gruesome start and it is not how everyone pictures their wedding day! Finding a body, a murdered man, and then we meet the team. Beth is an intelligent and observant woman, trying to find her place in her new team of FMIT. Her boss DI Zoe O’Dowd (fab name by the way!), is basically a ball breaker and it was refreshing to see two women lead the way. You have DS Thompon and DC Unthank both with their flaws, however, this team works. The way Beth’s brain works, how she sees things and interprets them was fascinating to see her thought process. I love police procedural books as I have said before, I love seeing the “behind the scenes” and how the team works together, working the clues. 

Time is of the essence in this book as I was racing to find out what was going on, trying to figure out who these unknown voices were, but at the same time a little nervous to discover who it is! Peeking out behind the cushions and listening to the sounds in the house, is how much this had me on edge at times!

As I said this is the first book in the series, and wham bam it start us on an intense rollercoaster of a journey and it awesome! I can not wait for the next book!  I also look forward to meeting Jack too.

Follow the rest of the tour here

Thanks to Emma at Bloodhound Books for the tour invite and the author for a copy of the book in return for my honest and unbiased review

About Graham Smith

Graham Smith is the bestselling author of four explosive crime thrillers in the Jake Boulder series, Watching the Bodies, The Kindred Killers, Past Echoes and Die Cold. Watching the Bodies spent over two weeks at number one in the Amazon UK chart and Amazon CA charts. Graham is also the author of the popular DI Harry Evans series and has collections of short stories and novellas. His latest novel – The Silent Dead is published by Bookouture and set in Cumbria / the Lake District, featuring DC Beth Young.

He is the proud father of a young son. As a time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer for the well-respected review site Crimesquad.com since 2010.

When not working, his time is spent reading, writing and playing games with his son. He enjoys socialising and spending time with friends and family.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

5 Comments

    • Zoe
      Author
      December 3, 2018 / 10:40 am

      I was waiting for that ;p Please do not disown me!!!!!!!!!!

  1. jenchaos76
    December 3, 2018 / 9:50 am

    Ah, I know how it can be as a mom. It gets better.

    • Zoe
      Author
      December 3, 2018 / 10:41 am

      Thank you 🙂 A nice early night tonight i think lol

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: