#Excerpt from A Christmas Wish by Tilly Tennant @TillyTenWriter @nholten40 @bookouture

#Excerpt from A Christmas Wish by Tilly Tennant @TillyTenWriter @nholten40 @bookouture The Christmas Wish by Tilly Tennant
Published by Bookouture on October 22 2018
Genres: Romance, Chick-Lit
Pages: 307
Buy on Amazon UK
Add to Goodreads

Lose yourself in this beautiful romantic comedy set in a land of sleigh rides, sparkling starry skies and gingerbread cottages. Perfect for fans of Karen Swan, Katie Fforde and Jill Mansell.

Christmas is coming but it doesn’t feel that way for Esme Greenwood. Recently jilted by her cheating fiancee Warren, she’s had enough of London life and escapes to Thimble Cottage in the Peak District, home of her beloved grandmother Matilda.

While Esme mourns for the wedding she’ll never have, Matilda puts her granddaughter back together again with comforting words and generous helpings of fruitcake and together, they plan the trip of a lifetime, to Lapland to see the northern lights, somewhere Matilda has always dreamt of going.

But tragedy strikes and when Matilda dies, Esme screws up the courage to go on the trip on her own to honour her beloved grandmother’s wishes. At the airport she meets a motley crew of characters including Zach, a handsome, brooding, out-of- work actor and together they set off for an adventure.

Beneath the indigo skies of Lapland, Esme and Zach grow closer. But when Esme is bombarded by messages from Warren promising he’s changed and she discovers that Zach is hiding something very significant - will her head be turned? And when a trip to the northern lights reveals the full extent of Zach’s own secret past, is there any hope that Esme will get the happy ending that her grandmother wished for her?

I know this is so very NOT like me to think about Christmas in October….but come on look at the book cover, I couldn’t say no!

So what have other people saying so far about it….

Chat about books says “Awwww, Tilly Tennant’s books never fail to put a smile on my face! The Christmas Wish has been such an adorable read. I’ve LOVED it!

Jessica’s Book Biz says “As soon as I seen the cover for this book I just knew it would be the perfect book to curl up with in front of the fire on these dark nights and I was so right. The Christmas Wish is just beautiful and magical – I loved it.

Gemma’s Book reviews says “Awwh I absolutely loved this story. Got me feeling festive and ready for Christmas already! I lost myself in this story, I was right there beside Esme the whole time. I loved the setting, snow, the adventures, santa and the Christmas village. It was perfect!”

The Writing Garnet says “I think I say whenever I review a Tilly Tennant novel, BUT I mean it every single time and this time is no exception – I have absolutely no idea how she does it, but once again she has written her best book yet. Oh my goodness!!” 

Wow what raving reviews!!!

Ok go on, go and enjoy an excerpt from the book A Christmas Wish!

Chapter  One

The front door was scuffed and scratched and it wore a faded version of the same bottle-green paint that had been slick and smart while Granddad had been alive.  The honeysuckle that had once prettily garlanded the frame was burdened by the husks of dead flowers, with tendrils that stretched and crept and snagged, like the thorns in Sleeping  Beauty that kept the prince from  Aurora.

Two empty milk bottles stood on the scrubbed grey doorstep along with a note in a spidery hand that read: One extra please.  Esme shook her head with a small smile.  Who even saw milk floats out on the roads these days?  She ’d been away for three years,  but while her life  had changed beyond recognition, it seemed that  nothing much had changed here in the sleepy village of  Little Dove  Morton.  But that was OK;  it  represented reassuring familiarity and that was what she’d come for.

Her attention turned to the windows.  All  looked quiet within –  not that she’d expected anything else.  But something nagged at the back of her mind  – all wasn’t as it should have been.  Her grandma had always been so fastidious about the whiteness of her nets and yet today they had more than a hint of grey about them.  Esme’s gaze went back to the honeysuckle that badly needed pruning, the peeling green paint of the front door and the weeds on the path beneath her feet.  Perhaps Grandma was struggling of late.  Perhaps she’d welcome a little help around the place and some company in the evenings.  Esme raked her teeth over her  bottom lip and hoped all that would be true.

Now that she was here, she wondered if she ought to have phoned ahead.  You couldn’t just turn up at someone ’s house in a state, even if that someone was the grandma who’d always told you  they loved you most in the world.

But she was here now and she didn’t have anywhere else to be.  She raised her hand to the knocker and took a deep breath.  Before she’d touched it, the door was flung open and her grandma stood on the step, cheeks pink with delight, her silver hair still cut into the same cute bob pinned on one side with the diamanté grip that  Granddad had given her the Christmas before he died.  For a moment, Esme was ten years old again, standing on the doorstep with her overnight bags ready to be spoiled with homemade chocolate puddings and snuggles in front of the television with her granddad.  Except she wasn’t, and that girl had been gone for a long time.

‘Esme!’  Grandma cried.  ‘What  a  lovely  surprise!’  But then her smile faded.  ‘What  on  earth  is  wrong?’

The reply got caught somewhere in Esme ’s throat, and suddenly she could n’t see for the tears she’d sworn she would n’t shed.  She threw herself into her grandma ’s open arms and breathed her in, the smell of lavender soap and talcum powder and the safety of childhood.

She  was  in  the  only  place  she  wanted  to  be  right  now.

She  was  home.

Follow the rest of the tour here

About Tilly Tennant

Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing. She wrote a novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books before the rest of the world gets them.

Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was her debut novel; published in 2014 it was an Amazon bestseller in both the UK and Australia. In 2016 she signed to the hugely successful Bookouture and is currently working on her next Tilly Tennant novel. She also writes as Sharon Sant, where she explores the darker side of life, and Poppy Galbraith, where things get a little crazier.

5 Comments

    • Zoe
      Author
      October 25, 2018 / 7:52 am

      Ah it was my pleasure I loved your review!

    • Zoe
      Author
      October 25, 2018 / 2:13 pm

      I haven’t had a chance to read it, but all the reviews sound really good . So looking forward to it

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: