Anger is Acid by Michael Clark @MikeClarkBooks @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours #BookReview #ThePatienceofADeadManSeries

Posted September 24, 2020 by Zoé in Book Reviews / 6 Comments

Anger is Acid by Michael Clark @MikeClarkBooks @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours #BookReview #ThePatienceofADeadManSeriesAnger is an Acid by Michael Clark
Series: The Patience of a Dead Man #3
Published by Michael Clark Books on May 4, 2020
Format: eBook
Source: Author
Pages: 270
Also by this author: The Patience of a Dead Man, Dead Woman Scorned

Mildred has control…

Tim and Holly, realizing they are helpless, are grateful when a stranger knocks on their door—but can he help?

Andrew Vaughn, a haunted man, is on-scene, hoping to lend a hand—against his will.

Meanwhile, the “ghost story” is becoming national news and attracting attention that Tim can’t afford.

Holly can’t stay in the house anymore and draws a line.

Confidence is low, and pressure builds.

Meanwhile, Mildred listens to almost everything they say. Is there any way around her anger?

Or will they die in vain, as they desperately search for Tim’s daughters?

We are here, it’s the finale and what a finale it was. The first three quarters creeped me out so much, I read some in the dark in bed because I always have these clever ideas. I proper freaked myself out, imagining Mildred there watching me. Not a nice thought!

It is THE epic showdown. There is a LOT of blood, there are new characters and there are scenes that will chill you to your core. Mildred is a woman you do not want to mess with. She has powers beyond our capability to understand, powers we learned about in the previous book. She is one angry woman!

Tim and Holly are still sleep-deprived, they are trying to get through each day after the explosive end of the last book. Each day, their hope falls, just like Mildred wants. Easy pickings!

With new characters brings the fear of more people to be hurt. Everything is so much more on edge, the fear is palpable from them all. However, at the same time, things don’t feel the same with Mildred, something has changed.

I did not expect the ending I got, and when all is said and done I am sad. I’m sad with the ending because well it ended. But all I will say is well played. I’m happy. Plus if there is a chance of more books I am game! There is one HUGE thing in the book, THE book! Now that is a game-changer especially if it is now in the wrong hands!!

Michael’s writing plays on your irrational fears, a creak of the staircase, a noise downstairs, a bang but mainly the darkness. Simple things of brushing your teeth and looking down a dark corridor wondering what or if something was looking back at you. I love the sense of your skin crawling with the fear like that. Mine did that in a quite few bits.

Mr Clarke has definitely made his name on my list for the go-to author of all things horror and I can’t wait to see what else he will come up with. There has only been a handful of authors that can unsettle me this way and Michael has achieved that. To make me feel like I’m being watched, or someone is next to me in the dark when reading. All irrational, but it did make me have to put the book down and wait until morning to read it. I didn’t want to be disturbed during the witching hour for sure.

One thing that is brilliantly done, when you finish the series and you look back at all the book titles, The Patience of a Dead Man, Dead Woman Scorned and Anger is Acid. Plus calling the series The Patience of a Dead Man, well it’s one of the best-named book and series as everything fits completely. I can see why everything is called what it is and I love that so much!!! It all makes sense!!

I really can’t recommend this series enough! Two books to scare the bejesus out of you and one to bring sympathy to the one causing the misery. It is a fantastic tale that is The legend of Mildred Wells.

Until next time xxx

Follow the rest of the tour here

Thanks to Emma at Damppebbles for the tour invite and the author for a copy of the book in return for my honest and unbiased review

Nothing I have read them all!! I have to keep my beady eyes on what Michael does next!

About Michael Clark

Michael Clark was raised in New Hampshire and lived in the house The Patience of a Dead Man is based on. The bats of the barn really circled the rafters all day and there actually was a man-made grove hidden in the forest. He now lives in Massachusetts with his wife Josi and his dog Bubba.

The Patience of a Dead Man is his first novel. Dead Woman Scorned is his second. More to come.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:



Stay and have a chat :)

6 responses to “Anger is Acid by Michael Clark @MikeClarkBooks @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours #BookReview #ThePatienceofADeadManSeries