#AudioBookReview of I Looked Away by Jane Corry @JaneCorryAuthor @penguinrandom #BookReview #ILookedAway #NetGalleyRead

Posted November 29, 2021 by Zoé in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

#AudioBookReview of I Looked Away by Jane Corry @JaneCorryAuthor @penguinrandom #BookReview #ILookedAway #NetGalleyReadI Looked Away by Jane Corry
Published by Penguin Random House Audio on June 21, 2019
Format: Audiobook, eARC, eBook
Source: Library, Net Galley, Bought
Pages: 467
Goodreads
Also by this author: The Killing Type

YOU MADE A MISTAKE. BUT THEY'RE SAYING IT'S MURDER.

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of My Husband's Wife, comes a beautifully written psycholgocial thriller for fans of Lisa Jewell and Clare Mackintosh.

Every Monday, 49-year-old Ellie looks after her grandson Josh. She loves him more than anyone else in the world. The only thing that can mar her happiness is her husband's affair. But he swears it's over now, and Ellie has decided to be thankful for what she's got.

Then one day, while she's looking after Josh, her husband gets a call from that woman. And just for a moment, Ellie takes her eyes off her grandson. What happens next will change her life forever.

Because Ellie is hiding something in her past.

And what looks like an accident could start to look like murder...

What a fricking book! I had no idea how this book would all work out, what the heck was happening but I was hooked!!!!!!!!

Just wow.

Ellie’s storyline damn broke my heart. She had endured so much and I feared for her. Jo, she was the same. But I couldn’t quite work out how she slotted in. Then I began to doubt something and I figured out a twist. One I wasn’t sure if I was correct in doing so but man what a clanger! Such an awesome reveal.

This story is not easy to listen to/read, mental abuse is something I have experienced and I thought that Jane handled this so well. Ellie was mentally abused and coerced and just trodden on, but she fought for everything she believed in. She is a true heroine! She needed to forgive herself for some things though! Her stepmother Shelia, oh my god! If I ever wanted to climb into a book and give a character a good slap – it would be her! She was toxic and vile and everything in between. She made me so angry. I loved the narrator for this book because she gave Shelia such an annoying voice that it just made you hate her more!

God, so many emotions with this one, but definitely a book I would recommend. It is such a character-driven story and you become so protective of Jo and Ellie. Their struggles and lives, become your own, along with the frustrations and pain.

When you read this, do be sure to read the entry at the end by Jane. She discusses the book but more importantly the amazing and important work she does to help the homeless. This book is an eye-opener for sure and I will not hesitate to pick up a book by Jane again, in fact, I want to see what to get next!

I have been put through the wringer, this story may haunt me for a little longer. So much pain and heartbreak and none, none of it should have happened. That is the hard thing about this book. The bits of information you find out after the event and in the last third of the book, well my jaw dropped as I was shouting Noooooooooo. I was shocked and saddened. This is a powerful book but I love that in the end, no matter what you are left with hope. And who doesn’t love a book with hope?

Until next time xxx

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags:

Divider

Stay and have a chat :)