#AudioBookReview of #TheLiarsRoom by Simon Lelic @Simon_Lelic @PenguinUKBooks #BookJar6 #BeatTheBackLog #NetGalley #BookReview

Posted February 12, 2022 by Zoé in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

#AudioBookReview of #TheLiarsRoom by Simon Lelic @Simon_Lelic @PenguinUKBooks  #BookJar6 #BeatTheBackLog #NetGalley #BookReviewThe Liar's Room by Simon Lelic
Published by Penguin on August 2, 2018
Format: eARC, Audiobook
Source: Net Galley, Bought
Amazon
Goodreads

ONE ROOM. TWO LIARS. NO WAY OUT...
Susanna Fenton has a secret. Fourteen years ago she left her identity behind, reinventing herself as a counsellor and starting a new life. It was the only way to keep her daughter safe.
But everything changes when Adam Geraghty walks into her office. She's never met this young man before - so why does she feel like she knows him?
Then Adam starts to tell her about a girl. A girl he wants to hurt.

And Susanna realises she was wrong.

She doesn't know him.

BUT HE KNOWS HER.

AND THE GIRL HE PLANS TO HURT IS HER DAUGHTER...

The addictive new thriller with an ending you'll never guess, The Liar's Room is perfect for readers of Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door and A J Finn's The Woman in the Window.
SIMON LELIC - THRILLERS TO KEEP YOU UP ALL NIGHT:

This book was so twisty and so character-driven it was an absolute blast!

When we first meet Susanna and Adam I did not imagine the journey we were going to take over the next few hours! I mean wowzers!! What a thrilling time!

I was a bit confuddled at first as to why Susanna was bearing her soul to Adam, I mean why would the therapist answer all his questions. Then things became clear. I tried to figure things out but even I got bamboozled on some things. Especially when Susanna would say something, something so innocently when she figured out who Adam was, well jaw drop moment! I was shocked! So many clangers and secrets, but just wow! The ending, well it could have gone one of two ways, I’m still not sure if it went the way I wanted or not. Don’t get me wrong it was probably the ending I was expecting but in a way, and probably more dark and sadistic, I may have wanted a different ending – read the book and you might get what I mean.

This was a very chilling tale, where most of the “action” takes place in one room. The hear and now and as the revelations begin to unfold, everything just intensified.

I just couldn’t stop listening to the audiobook, it was addictive. I blasted through this in two days and if I hadn’t had the school run to do, I would have finished this in one day. It was that damn good. It made my jaw drop, it made me feel cold, I was worried and I was shocked to my core. I just can’t stop thinking about this journey I have been on!! Something I won’t get over anytime soon.

I just have to say, I can NOT wait to see what Lelic does next! I will be pushing to the front to get it. Just seeing the books I have to catch up on makes me feel like a child in a sweet shop!!!

Until the next time xxx

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags:

Divider

Stay and have a chat :)