#AudioBookReview of Why She Left by Leah Mercer @LeahMercerBooks @BookOuture #NetGalley #WhySheLeft #BookReview

Posted December 28, 2021 by Zoé in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

#AudioBookReview of Why She Left by Leah Mercer @LeahMercerBooks @BookOuture #NetGalley #WhySheLeft #BookReviewWhy She Left by Leah Mercer, Mira Dovreni
Published by Bookouture Audio on December 13, 2021
Format: Audiobook
Source: Net Galley
Amazon
Goodreads

When I open the door and see her, my mind starts churning. Why are they here? What do they want? And why did my daughter leave in the first place? Am I finally, after all of these years, going to find out? I take a deep breath and usher them in…

Ruth has spent every day of the last fifteen years wondering why her daughter Isobel left. Walking around the school to which she has given her life, every child she sees reminds her of her family’s bright future which vanished in an instant.

So when Ruth opens the door to find Isobel and a teenage grandson she never knew existed, she feels a rush of relief. Despite the years of hurt she never stopped loving Isobel and wants to help rebuild her life. Enrolling her grandson at the school, Ruth wants to make sure they stay for good.

Isobel has spent her life running from a painful secret. A secret which could have destroyed her family. Now, as she flees a bad relationship, she knows that her childhood home is the only place where she can be safe.

But as Isobel looks at her son in his crisp new uniform, she is taken straight back to the reason she ran all those years ago. Soon it becomes clear that she is not the only one tormented by the past. Someone is prepared to destroy everything Ruth and Isobel hold dear. Can Isobel confront her darkest secret before it is too late?

From the bestselling author of Who We Were Before comes a powerful and emotional page-turner about devastating family secrets. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Emily Bleeker and Imogen Clark.

Wow-what a book I’ve never been more gripped by a book where has characters that I could not stand. I could not stand Ruth, she was very blinkered she forgot her daughter Cecily, who has stood by her all this time and she was just all about Isabel and Isaac.

Isabel irritated me, she was also blinkered, it was her way or not at all. She didn’t listen to anyone and always thought she knew best. I get that she gave up EVERYTHING but the way she behaved towards everyone was not forgivable.

Oh, the twists in this book were fabulous! I saw some that were coming, but there were a couple that took me by surprise and it was awesome! I was shocked.

This is the first book I have read by Leah but I am definitely going to be reading more from her. She has created a book, where I didn’t like anyone but yet I was so hooked on the story I couldn’t stop listening. I drove home which is a good couple of hours each way and normally I would listen to music and dip in and out of an audiobook but no instead, I put this on for both journeys and listened to nothing else. I was completely hooked. I would have been happy if I was stuck in traffic for a few more hours just to listen to the book. The narrator was fabulous, she got me so absorbed in her voice that I forgot everything around me.

This is one I do recommend you listen to, it is a fun way to spend some hours and to lose yourself in this book, only coming up for air once you have found out the secret of Isabel and the events that destroyed this family.

Until next time xxx

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags:

Divider

Stay and have a chat :)