#BookReview of It All Comes Back To You by Beth Duke #BethDuke @ZooloosBT #ItAllComesBackToYou #ZooloosBookTours

Posted November 7, 2021 by Zoé in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

#BookReview of It All Comes Back To You by Beth Duke #BethDuke @ZooloosBT #ItAllComesBackToYou #ZooloosBookToursIt All Comes Back to You by Beth Duke
Published by The Art of Dixie on August 28, 2018
Pages: 300
Amazon
Goodreads


Alabama, 1947.


War's over, cherry-print dresses, parking above the city lights, swing dancing.


Beautiful, seventeen-year-old Violet lives in a perfect world. Everybody loves her.


In 2012, she's still beautiful, charming, and surrounded by admirers.

Veronica "Ronni" Johnson, licensed practical nurse and aspiring writer, meets the captivating Violet in the assisted living facility where Violet requires no assistance, just lots of male attention. When she dies, she leaves Ronni a very generous bequest―only if Ronni completes a book about her life within one year. As she's drawn into the world of young Violet, Ronni is mesmerized by life in a simpler time. It's an irresistible journey filled with revelations, some of them about men Ronni knew as octogenarians at Fairfield Springs.
Struggling, insecure, flailing at the keyboard, Ronni juggles her patients, a new boyfriend, and a Samsonite factory of emotional baggage as she tries to craft a manuscript before her deadline.
But then the secrets start to emerge, some of them in person. And they don't stop.
Everything changes.
Alternating chapters between Homecoming Queen Violet in 1947 and can't-quite-find-her-crown Ronni in the present, IT ALL COMES BACK TO YOU is book club fiction at its hilarious, warm, sad, outrageous, uplifting, and stunning best. In the tradition of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand and Olive Kitteridge, Duke delivers an unforgettable elderly character to treasure and a young heroine to steal your heart.

Wow.what.a.book.

I loved it!!

I know the story is about Ronni and Violet and as much as I liked Ronni. I just wanted to spend all my time with Violet. Her story was beautiful and heartbreaking and just wow. Violet is a character who demands your attention without even demanding it, her charisma oozes off the pages, she is the type of woman you want and need in your life.

Following Violet through all that heartbreak and love was beautiful and terrifying. She was a beauty. She loved strongly and most of the time she was treated….well….not in the best way. It seemed every time she fell in love. There was something in the way. And then….then that letter, well jeez Louise that was a clanger and I felt the tears that wanted to spill. I felt all the emotions with that one letter and its words.

I picked this book up because I loved the cover and by the end, I loved the words that Beth had written. Whilst we learn about Violet, and her life, we sit and watch Ronni learn and grow. And that final bit in the book, well I know I would have been sobbing if I hadn’t been surrounded by people.

The love and respect these two women had for each other was mesmerising. The lengths they would go to, to help each other was a sign of true friendship.

I just loved this story! I loved being whisked away to 1940 America. Living Violets life. I can’t talk about any characters because you do need to go in blind but some of the revelations both in the past and present will definitely have you furiously turning the pages to get to the conclusion of them. I want more pages, I want more Violet. I am not ready to let her go. This book touched me, it was the book I needed right now. It was just a beautiful and character-driven story. Love is dangerous stuff!!! There is a lot going on in this book and things and people aren’t what they seemed. This really shouldn’t surprise me but a couple of characters did shock me!

I want to read more by Beth! I want more stories like this, where I am completely wrapped up in the words and where I don’t want to do any adulting! I just plain loved it, if you hadn’t guessed it. I just have no words to do this book justice.

Just what.a.book

Until next time xxx

About Beth Duke

Beth Dial Duke is an Amazon #1 Best Selling author and the recipient of short story awards on two continents.
She is eyeing the other five.
Beth lives in the mountains of her native Alabama with her husband, one real dog, and one ornamental dog.
She loves reading, writing, and not arithmetic.
Baking is a hobby, with semi-pro cupcakes and amateur macarons a specialty.
And puns–the worse, the better.
Travel is her other favorite thing, along with joining book groups for discussion. If a personal visit isn’t possible, she is fluent in Zoom.
Please visit bethduke.com for more information, to request a book club visit, and to see photos of the most beautiful readers in the world!

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags:

Divider

Stay and have a chat :)

2 responses to “#BookReview of It All Comes Back To You by Beth Duke #BethDuke @ZooloosBT #ItAllComesBackToYou #ZooloosBookTours