The New Home by Chris Merritt @drcjmerritt @bookouture @nholten40 #BookReview #BooksOnTour #PublicationDay

Posted September 7, 2021 by Zoé in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

The New Home by Chris Merritt
Published by Bookouture on September 7, 2021
Format: eARC
Source: Net Galley
Pages: 332
Amazon
Goodreads
Also by this author: Last Witness, Life or Death, Bring Her Back, Last Witness, Life or Death, Bring Her Back, Last Witness , Life or Death, Knock Knock, Who's Next?, Lost Souls

Freya loves her new home on a quiet suburban street. And her beautiful neighbour Emily is everything she’s ever wanted in a best friend. Finally, she has somebody to share her secrets with over a glass of wine. But as Freya watches her new friend setting the table for dinner one evening, she sees something shocking that makes her think that Emily’s life might not be as perfect as it seems.

Days later, Emily and her daughter vanish…

When you meet Emily’s husband, you will think you know what he’s hiding.

You will ask yourself whether Emily and Freya really did meet by chance.

You will think you know what happened to Emily and her little girl the night they went missing.

But when you discover the truth, it will shake you to your core and you will lie awake at night wondering if you can ever really trust the people in the house next door…

Fans of Claire McGowan, Shalini Boland and Lisa Jewell will love the gripping tension and unexpected twists of The New Home. Once you start reading, you’ll be hooked!

Happy Publication Day Chris!!!!!!

The tagline is right on the money with this book, once you start you won’t want to stop reading it! Alas, I had to but I was thinking about this book when I wasn’t reading it! I will admit, being a superfan of Chris’ I wasn’t sure how it was going to be reading a new book that didn’t include Zac or Dan in….well boy was this a treat!!

Something has shifted with Chris’ writing, to me there was a whole new feel to his writing. It was smoother and more gripping than I have ever known it and I have loved all his previous works. I will admit though this does give Zac and the gang a good run for its money because this book is most definitely going to be seen in my top books for the year.

It has everything I want in a book to keep me hooked, drawn and reading. I was intrigued by Freya and her mission to find her missing friend. We are thrown so many red herrings, twists and turns I really did not know what to think! One or two things have niggled and I will be asking these questions for sure, however, I absolutely LOVED this book! I didn’t want it to end. I was shaking my head at Freya’s actions one minute and then the next I was all tensed up as I was nervous because of her actions. She was pretty reckless that is for sure, and it leads to some pretty severe consequences. I just never knew what she would get up to next! She is 100% unreliable, but the problem you have, is you start believing her and nodding your head right along with her as she reasons with you. Then the next page, when you take your mind back, you are shaking your head because you know she must be wrong, it was a vicious circle!

The chapters from the unknown voice had me second-guessing every step of the way to whom it could be! I was stumped I did not see it coming and what a shock it was!

This book is so different to what I am used to from Chris and I would say this is one heck of a book! You can feel the confidence in his writing as he changes his style. This is knee-deep in mental health, uncertainty, unreliable narrators and a far cry from the gritty, police procedurals I am used to. All I can say is, I want more of these too!! Don’t get me wrong I miss Zac and want more books with him but I am now itching to read another book like this from Chris. It has ticked all the boxes for me and now I don’t know what to read next because this book is still lingering on my mind!

Until next time xxx

Thanks to Noelle at Bookouture for the tour invite and the author for a copy of the book in return for my honest and unbiased review

Follow the rest of the tour here

About Chris Merritt

Chris Merritt is a British author whose crime thrillers combine psychology, suspense, and characters you care about.

All his novels are set in London, where he lives. He began writing fiction in 2014, after previous careers as a diplomat, based in Iraq and Jerusalem, and later as a psychologist working with victims and perpetrators of crime. He specialised in treating Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), which sparked his interest in telling stories about how people cope when faced with extreme adversity.

Now he spends most of his time writing novels and drinking coffee while *thinking* about writing novels. When he’s not writing, he loves climbing and playing basketball.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags:

Divider

Stay and have a chat :)