#BookReview of The Guest Room by Rona Halsall @RonaHalsallAuth @Bookouture @NHolten40 #NetGalley #TheGuestRoom

Posted February 6, 2022 by Zoé in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

#BookReview of The Guest Room by Rona Halsall @RonaHalsallAuth @Bookouture @NHolten40 #NetGalley #TheGuestRoomThe Guest Room by Rona Halsall
Published by Bookouture on January 31, 2022
Format: eARC
Source: Net Galley
Pages: 311
Goodreads
Also by this author: Love You Gone, The Honeymoon, Her Mother's Lies, The Ex Boyfriend, The Liar's Daughter

You think you’re safe in your home. You’re wrong.
Ever since Steph’s husband walked out after a thirty-year marriage, home hasn’t felt like a safe haven. Her daughter Bea thinks she’s imagining things. But Steph knows that the noises in the night, the open windows she knows she left closed, the strange smell in the kitchen – none of it feels right.
Then her house is broken into, and a young man named Noah helps her fix the front window. He’s fallen on hard times and Steph impulsively offers him a place to stay. At least if he is there, she won’t be home alone.
Before long Noah is living in Bea’s old bedroom, paying rent, and getting his life back on track. Steph’s ex-husband and Bea are furious. But Steph feels secure at last.
Until the strange things start happening once more.
Until it becomes clear someone will stop at nothing to make her never, ever feel safe again.
The most twisty and unputdownable thriller of the year – perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Mark Edwards and Gone Girl.

Oh my days. What a book!! I have just finished the book and I had to try and articulate my thoughts somehow.

I just know that whenever I read a book by Rona, I am going to go on an adventure, and it’s an absolutely crazy adventure! It is always one hell of a ride and boy do I enjoy it.

So off the bat, I guessed the person behind it and part of their motive. I just had this sneaky suspicion from the start, something didn’t sit right with me. However, despite being right, it was sad because I was right because it’s the last thing I wanted to happen to Steph. I loved picking up on clues that were subtly put there. A word, a change in demeanour and I zoned in. I had a feeling something was still not quite right and my thoughts were confirmed. However, the chapter after the epilogue. WOW!!!

I mean, I never have any qualms about knowing the culprit before the end because it’s about the adventure and how we get there. This was one hell of an adventure!!!!!!! I sped through the book. That is the thing with Rona’s writing, it’s so easy to get lost in that the next thing you know you have finished the book and it’s nearly 1am!! Being tired will be so worth it.

It was an interesting story and I loved how brave and caring Steph was, albeit a bit naive. Her daughter Bea overbearing from the start, almost like she forgot she was the daughter but someone needed to look after Steph with all the mess that had gone her way. I love that we had all our pawns on the board and everyone played their part perfectly.

One thing I do take away from this is the fear of living on your own. I felt fraught alongside Steph when we first realise someone had broken in. What a scary thought. It plays on your mind and then everything that is small. Well, it’s no longer small. Every worry and nuisances are picked upon like prey and spat back at you tenfold as the tension ramps up.

I can never get bored reading a book by Rona. My only complaint is that it is over so quickly!! She creates believable characters, gives you some red herrings to grill and then pulls the rug from out under you with a plot twist! Just love it!!!!!

I look forward to the next book. Will it be soon?

Until next time xxx

Catch up with the rest of the tour here!

My Thanks to Noelle at Bookouture for the tour invite and the author for a copy of the book in return for my honest and unbiased review

About Rona Halsall

Rona’s debut psychological thriller, Keep You Safe came out on 17th August and her second novel, Love You Gone is out now.

Rona lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and three guinea pigs. She has been a bookworm since she was a child and now she’s actually creating stories of her own, which still feels like a dream come true.

She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful beaches on the Island while she’s plotting how to kill off her next victim. She also makes sure she deletes her Google history on a regular basis, because… well, you can’t be too careful when you spend your life researching new and ingenious ways for people to die.

She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Tags:

Divider

Stay and have a chat :)