WWW Wednesdays – 19th June 2019 #WWW

Posted June 19, 2019 by Zoé in Reviews and Stuff, WWW / 0 Comments


Hosted by Taking on a World of Words, this meme is all about the three Ws:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Why not join in too?  Leave a comment with your link at Taking on a World of Words and then go blog hopping!

What am I currently reading?

Only two books at the moment!! Always chasing my tail to get ahead, getting there…maybe!

WWW Wednesdays – 19th June 2019 #WWWBeyond Reasonable Doubt (Elliot Rook, QC #1) by Gary Bell
Also by this author: Beyond Reasonable Doubt
Add to Goodreads

The start of a fantastic new legal series, perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith, written by an acclaimed QC Elliot Rook is the epitome of a highly successful, old-Etonian QC. Or so everyone believes. In fact, he is an ex-petty criminal with a past that he has spent decades keeping secret. Until now... An unidentified young woman of Middle Eastern origin has been found murdered on the outskirts of Rook's home town. Billy Barber - a violent football hooligan and white-supremacist - is accused of her murder. Barber insists that Rook must defend him. If Rook refuses, Barber will expose him, bringing crashing to the ground the life and career that Rook has spent his life building. The truth is there for the finding. But at what cost?





WWW Wednesdays – 19th June 2019 #WWWEscaping from Houdini (Stalking Jack the Ripper, #3) by Kerri Maniscalco
Also by this author: Stalking Jack the Ripper, Hunting Prince Dracula, Escaping from Houdini
Add to Goodreads

Audrey Rose Wadsworth and her partner-in-crime-investigation, Thomas Cresswell, are en route to New York to help solve another blood-soaked mystery. Embarking on a week-long voyage across the Atlantic on the opulent RMS Etruria, they’re delighted to discover a traveling troupe of circus performers, fortune tellers, and a certain charismatic young escape artist entertaining the first-class passengers nightly.

But then, privileged young women begin to go missing without explanation, and a series of brutal slayings shocks the entire ship. The disturbing influence of the Moonlight Carnival pervades the decks as the murders grow ever more freakish, with nowhere to escape except the unforgiving sea.

It's up to Audrey Rose and Thomas to piece together the gruesome investigation as even more passengers die before reaching their destination. But with clues to the next victim pointing to someone she loves, can Audrey Rose unravel the mystery before the killer's horrifying finale?

Absolutely loving both of these books at the moment!!


What did I recently finish?

WWW Wednesdays – 19th June 2019 #WWWConfetti at the Little Duck Pond Cafe: (Little Duck Pond Cafe, Book 6) by Rosie Green
Also by this author: Summer at The Little Duck Pond Cafe, Christmas at The Little Duck Pond Cafe, Snowed in at The Little Duck Pond Cafe, A Bakery at the Little Duck Pond Cafe, A Bakery at the Little Duck Pond Cafe, Confetti at the Little Duck Pond Cafe, Bonfires & Hot Chocolate at The Little Duck Pond Cafe
Add to Goodreads

Wedding fever is in the air in the village of Sunnybrook. With Ellie and Zak's Big Day on the horizon, the sun is shining brightly on the Little Duck Pond Cafe community. But when dark clouds begin to roll in from more than one direction, several close relationships look to be under threat. Will the wedding of the year actually take place at all?

Such a cute little novella!






WWW Wednesdays – 19th June 2019 #WWWNow You See Me by Chris McGeorge
Also by this author: Now You See Me
Add to Goodreads

Six people went in. Only one came out...

Introducing Standedge Tunnel: the longest canal tunnel in England.

Last year six students went in, and two and a half hours later, the boat reappeared on the other side with only one of the students, unconscious, and the dog.

The case of the Standedge Six was largely kept from the national media. The police investigation concluded that the only remaining student, Matthew, killed his friends, hid the bodies on the boat and returned later to move them to an undisclosed location.

Matthew is in prison . . . but maintains he is innocent.

Robert Ferringham is grieving for his missing wife, Sam. So when Matthew contacts him for help with his case, promising information on Sam, Robert has no choice but to help. But can he trust Matthew?

And how will he solve the insolvable case?

This was just quite simply amazing!!!




WWW Wednesdays – 19th June 2019 #WWWThe Honeymoon by Rona Halsall
Also by this author: Love You Gone, The Honeymoon, Her Mother's Lies
Add to Goodreads

‘I’m your husband, Chloe. We’re a partnership now and we do what’s best for us as a couple. Staying here is going to be the best option.’ He picked up his drink and took a sip. ‘It’s not open for discussion. We’re not going home.’

Chloe had the dream wedding. Dan is her perfect man. They haven’t known each other for long, but as she walked down the aisle and saw him standing by the altar, tears glistening in his eyes, she knew this was forever.

Later, as they relax on a beautiful island, settling in to their new married life together, they congratulate themselves on their lovely wedding day, and Dan jokes that he’d like them to stay there forever.

But as the honeymoon goes on, he becomes increasingly adamant. They shouldn’t leave. In fact, he won’t let her…

An utterly gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Clare Mackintosh, and The Wife Between Us.

This was an adventure and a half!!!




What will I be reading next?

WWW Wednesdays – 19th June 2019 #WWWThe Venerate Redemption (The Venerate Saga #2) by Troy Dukart
Also by this author: The Venerate Order , The Venerate Salvation
Add to Goodreads

Strafe and his friends have become the most wanted fugitives in the world. They have no other choice but travel to Crotona, to convince Eternia’s leaders of their innocence before they are hunted down.

But first, they need to stop the Senti from gaining the powerful Guardian Key. Guided by a mysterious visitor in his dreams, Strafe and the group press on, despite the danger. But even with their new-found powers, will it be enough to take down their ruthless adversary?

As tensions in the realm reach a boiling point, lives are on the line at every moment. Strafe is getting closer to freeing his family and getting back home, but it will only come with great sacrifice. He will face the greatest challenges of his life, and fight against not only an enemy, but an ideal.

Strafe must rely on his friends and instincts to guide him. His fate is in his own hands... but he doesn't have to fight alone.

WWW Wednesdays – 19th June 2019 #WWWThe Venerate Salvation (The Venerate Saga #3) by Troy Dukart
Also by this author: The Venerate Order , The Venerate Salvation
Add to Goodreads

Strafe and Yessa, along with Strafe’s twin-brother Zixin and their wolves, return to Earth after ending an apocalypse on the distant world of Eternia. They believe they have found peace, but when the demons of Zixin’s past begin to torment him, his mental health begins to deteriorate rapidly. Strafe notices Zixin inflicting self-harm and waking in screaming nightmares daily. The race to find a solution and heal his brother become Strafe's priority while avoiding the threat of the remaining Federation forces. On top of that, Strafe's weapon, the God Blade, remains shattered from his final battle on Eternia and is a shell of its former self. He no longer carries the power he once did.

The situation is complicated by Yessa's yearn to find her parents who she believes were abducted by the Federation. As a former prisoner of war, she is steadfast in her mission to rescue them from the same fate. She finds hope through the newest and most advanced military branch ever created, the Space Force. Internally conflicted, Yessa will make the most difficult decision of her life; leave or stay. This one choice could mean the end of her relationship with Strafe or the death of her parents.

Unknown to the three of them, something else followed them home.

It is hunting them relentlessly and leaving a trail of blood and carnage in its wake. The only people who seem to know what’s going on are a mysterious hacktivist group called the Salvators. Strafe questions their end goal but has no choice but to trust them to save his brother. On top of all that, a virus begins to spread globally, turning anyone it comes into contact with into crystalized monsters called Slates. Unless Strafe and Yessa crack the code on who unleashed it, everyone they know will fall.

The real question is: How do you deal with pain that nobody can see?

Looking forward to these bad boys for an author I can call a friend!




WWW Wednesdays – 19th June 2019 #WWWThe Mark (The Working Girls #1) by Heather Burnside
Also by this author: The Mark
Add to Goodreads

The queen of urban crime is back with a shocking, brilliant new series – The Working Girls...

A TRIP TO THE DARK SIDE. When respected journalist, Maddy, goes to interview prostitutes in a rundown Manchester pub, she doesn't reckon on attracting the attention of their ruthless pimp, Gilly. He quickly decides to use Maddy for his own gains; he just needs to work out how.

A TOXIC AFFAIR. In the weeks that follow, Maddy is oblivious to Gilly's growing obsession with her, particularly when she begins a romance with successful businessman, Aaron. Their passionate love affair starts to dominate her life, and she finds herself losing control and alienating the people around her.

A TARGET ON HER BACK. As Maddy's safe and successful life starts to crumble around her, she must quickly work out who has it in for her, before it's too late...

Heather Burnside is back with this breath-taking, heart-racing new series, perfect for all fans of Kimberley Chambers and Martina Cole.

First time I am dipping my toes in this genre of books, quite excited!

How has your week been?

Until next time xxx


Stay and have a chat :)